The things they don’t tell you when starting a business.

Lynzy Likes
3 min readMay 1, 2021

“Start a business,” they said. “It will be fun,” they said. “Good way to make money,” they said.

They plant the seed. They give us the bug. They build the desire. But what they don’t do is give us any kind of direction into what kind of business we should start.
At least, this is what happened to me.

I have known for the longest time… since I was a small child, that I wanted to be a business owner. I wanted to run a business. I wanted to bring something to the community. In my lifetime, I have come up with about 15 million ideas of businesses I wanted to start. (technically, I would still love to.)
But… I generally let that negative voice in my head talk me out of it.
That voice is called ego… but that is for another post. If you’re interested… You should check out a book by Kyle Cease, he explains it really well.

Anyway… What they don’t really tell you, (because I think they assume it's understood) is that no one will give you any idea of what business you should start. No one will do this for you. And… it turns out that it's actually pretty difficult.

It’s rough to watch people who have that singular passion/goal… Like, “I want to open my own restaurant.” or, “I’m going to open a beauty…

--

--

Lynzy Likes
0 Followers

Admin by day, Digital Marketing business owner by night. Writing her heart out and speaking her mind, as often as possible.